French Beaded Calla Lily

Leave a comment

November 22, 2014 by epochbeadsuk

My finished Lily

My finished Lily

Thought I would show you my first attempt at a French beaded Calla Lily.  I am extremely pleased with the results.

I bought this pattern from Katie Dean’s Bead flowers site to make purple lilies for my sister’s wedding bouquet. I have made Katie’s beaded rose at a workshop I attended at Stitchncraft Beads in Semley, Dorset so thought I would give this a go.

Katie Dean Beaded Lily

Katie Dean Beaded Lily

IMG_5862

Bead Spinner

The pattern cost £6 and was download immediately after payment so I could crack on!

 

At first I thought 9 pages of the pattern was daunting but actually it was brilliant! The diagrams were really good and every step was explained in detail and in plain English!! (no jargon lol). To make this flower you definitely need a bead spinner unless as Katie says ‘you want to thread 3000 beads by hand!’ a daunting prospect lol. I used size 11 Purple Iris Czech seed beads and 0.50 and 0.315 craft wire.

In progress

In progress

There are lots of helpful tips along the way which I was glad of as I have never done ‘lacing’ before. The finished result was amazing and my sister was thrilled. My lacing could have been straighter but once the flower was assembled you couldn’t see it! and it didn’t take long to get the hang of the lacing. A great and easy to follow pattern.

To accompany the Calla Lily I also made a sprig of purple Stephanotis

Stephanotis

Stephanotis

with the pattern from Katie’s Bead Flowers and Wedding Bouquets ebook. These little flowers were so easy to do and are so cute.

I really enjoyed making these flowers and I am so pleased with the finished results.

THANKS KATIE X

 

 

Leave a Reply

Me!

Award Winning Jewellery

Runner up in Beads & Beyond Magazine's Jewellery Maker of the Year Competition 2012 - Chain Maille Category

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Post Categories

Blog Stats

  • 52,278 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

